During the COVID-19 state of emergency period, Badminton Ontario will be operating on reduced hours. If needed, please contact via email.

Coach Recognition Awards

Nominations for the Coaching Recognition Award may be submitted by any club or District member to Badminton Ontario at any time up to April 15th of each calendar year. Award nominations may be coach level specific based upon the unique accomplishments of the nominee. Coach awards can include (but not limited to) these categories:

  • Grassroots
  • Leadership
  • International Development
  • Legacy
  • Program Development

Nominations will be reviews by the Badminton Ontario Coaching Committee and approved by the Badminton Ontario Board of Directors. Presentation of the annual Coach Recognition Awards will be at the annual Badminton Ontario Awards evening. 

Nominations should be sent to the Chair of the Badminton Ontario Coaching Committee (kevin.willington@badmintonontario.ca) by the above noted deadline. The Badminton Ontario Coaching Committee members who do not have conflict will review all nominations.

Previous Coach of the Year Award Recipients

19/20 – not awarded due to COVID-19 cancellations

18/19 – n/a 

17/18 – Leadership & International Development: Andrew Dabeka

16/17 – Lifetime Achievement for Coaching: Mike De Belle

16/17 – Lifetime Achievement for NCCP Course Conductor: Cindy Huras

15/16 – International Athlete Development: Jennifer Lee

15/16 – Lifetime Achievement for NCCP Course Conductor: Kim Ng 

15/16 – Grassroots Program Development Coach: Kurt Templmans Plat 

14/15 – High Performance: Efendi Wijiya

14/15 – Grassroots: Janet Hugli

13/14 – Efendi Wijaya

12/13 – Kevin Cao

11/12 – Efendi Wijaya